Rachel Smith Award

Rachel Smith Award

Rachel Smith was the lead staff member in the VMTH Clinical Pathology Laboratory for many years.  She worked side-by-side with Dr. Oscar Schalm to develop the field of veterinary hematology.  In 1985, on the occasion of Rachel Smith's retirement, it was decided to establish an annual award in her name

Brenda Keegan (Emergency and Critical Care Service)

2021 Rachel Smith Award Recipient

Brenda Keegan (Emergency and Critical Care Service)
Brenda Keegan is a dedicated team member, filling in extra shifts when short staffed and leading by example every step of the way. As a service manager, she is an open, positive communicator and is gifted in her ability to keep team members focused on the task at hand. Brenda is devoted to the success of her team and patient care throughout the hospital. As a highly skilled technician, is a wonderful asset to students, welcoming them to a potentially intimidating environment and taking time to explain aspects of their cases; students learn that she is one of the “go-to” people in the hospital.

  • Previous Recipients
  • 2020 - Sarah Blasczynski
    2019 - Jason Peters
    2018 - Valerie Wiebe
    2017 - Stacy Zindel
    2016 - Janette Barrango
    2015 - Denise Berger and Matt Nichols
    2014 - Gigi Remark and Eileen Samitz
    2013 - Monica Kratochvil and Kristina Palmer
    2007 - Becky Griffey and Bill Perkins
    2006 - Delaina Matz and Cheryl Stafford
    2005 - Esther Finn and Greg Hanson
    2004 - Dave Carrion and Betty Thompson
    2003 - Eric Simonson
    2002 - Richard Morgan
    2001 - Jane Gunderson
    2000 - Doug West
    1999 - Craig Cornell
    1998 - Tom Baker
    1997 - Darlene Riel
    1996 - Mari-Ann Green
    1995 - Mike Reis
    1994 - Harold Davis
    1993 - Manuel Carillo
    1992 - Cindy Savely
    1991 - Valerie Johnson
    1990 - Fred Librach
    1989 - Moira Fitzgerald and Spencer Jang
    1988 - Gibson Reid
    1987 - John Neves
    1986 - Roberto Flores